top of page
scholarship image.png


Augustus Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship was named after the Sylvania Schools employee whose bequest started the Foundation in 1985. This scholarship is awarded to high academic achieving students. Each year the high school's principal selects a student deserving of this award. 


2023 Winners        


Ben Hsiao - $500


Rayna Kanjo - $500

Marjorie M. Fitkin Memorial Scholarship (renewable)

The Marjorie M. Fitkin Memorial Student Scholarships are possible because of the generous bequest to the Foundation from former Sylvania teacher Marjorie Fitkin. Marjorie graduated from Burnham High School in 1940. She taught for more than 30 years, primarily at Maplewood Elementary and Stranahan Elementary, before retiring in 1977. Marjorie passed away in 2013. 


2023 Winners    

Madison Morgan - $2000

Reilly Cripe - $2000

Ashton Nutting - $2000

Samantha Bernholtz- $2000

Abigail Christen- $2000


The Fitkin Scholarship is a $2,000 renewable scholarship for Sylvania students who intend to enter education. The scholarship application is available through the Great Toledo Community Foundation website. The deadline to apply is February 11. Fifteen Sylvania students have received this scholarship since it was first offered in 2017. 

Toledo Community Foundation Website

Alyssa Gottschalk Memorial Scholarship

The Alyssa Gottschalk Memorial Scholarship was created by her family to honor her memory and to pay tribute to the wonderful person she was. Alyssa influenced the lives of many students in several school districts, but her true love was for Sylvania, where she taught at Arbor Hills Junior High.  She had a passion for teaching and a special connection with her students.  Alyssa’s family and friends will never forget her humor, genuine kindness, and positive attitude.  We hope her spirit and love for life will live on in the students who benefit from her scholarship.


The scholarships are available to any graduating students of Sylvania Northview or Sylvania Southview, emphasizing students continuing their education in the teaching professions.


2023 Winners


Louis Genson - $1000

Abigail Christen - $1000

Paige Brown - $500


Madison Morgan - $1000

Courtney Spencer - $1000

Rania Maaraba - $500

Peg Graber Memorial Scholarship

The Peg Graber Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of longtime Southview science teacher Peg Graber. Peg taught at Southview High School from its opening day in 1976 until she retired in 2007 and advocated for developing high-level science learning. Each year the Southview Science Department selects a recipient for this prestigious recognition. The individual displays a love for science and has earned the respect of the Southview Science Department. The award each year is presented to a Southview student and is non-renewable.


2023 Winner:

Danyelle Bumpus- $1000


Marjorie M. Fitkin Professional Development Scholarship Application

Marjorie M. Fitkin Memorial Professional Development Scholarships are awarded to staff members three times each school year due to the generous bequest to the Foundation from former Sylvania teacher Marjorie Fitkin. Ms.Fitkin graduated from Burnham High School in 1940 and taught in Sylvania Schools for over 30 years before retiring in 1977.


The Sylvania Schools Foundation is pleased to announce that the following PD scholarships have been awarded to the following educators equaling $6018.50

  • Anna Drake-Kotz (Arbor Hills) - International Society for Technology Training & Certification

  • Megan Fitzpatrick (Southview) - OMEA Conference for music educators

  • Gail Masse (Preschool) - Conscious Discipline Advanced Training

  • Sara Nelson (Timberstone) - Ohio Council of Teachers of Language Arts (OCTELA) Conference

  • Samantha Olrich (Southview) - OMEA Conference for music educators

  • Amanda Rasey (Maplewood) - OMEA Conference for music educators

  • Megan Rhodes (Hill View) - "Exploring the Social Benefits of Music Education" - 2023 Michigan Music Conference​


Teacher Grant Application

For nearly four decades, the Foundation has awarded Teacher Grants to directly support the learning environment and enriching experiences for Sylvania students. 

Teacher Grants awarded January 2023  - $2570.10


  • Jessica Cancio (Highland Elementary) - Black lights for student art projects.

  • Megan Fitzpatrick (Southview HS) - Portable PA system for the Southview Rock Orchestra.

  • Karen Francis (Arbor Hills JH) - Classroom set of the novel "Fish in a Tree."

  • Cathy Korn (Highland Elementary) - Math-based manipulatives to support STEM-based activities at the kindergarten level.

  • Jacquelyn Lininger (Highland Elementary) - Collection of Wonderbooks & Audio Hookup for reading

  • Kirsten Long (Maplewood Elementary) - Flexible classroom seating that allows students to be active and engaged in instruction and classroom activity

  • Linda McKown (Maplewood Elementary) - Hands-on materials that facilitate creative thinking via the classroom math centers.

  • Natalie Richards (Whiteford Elementary) - Flexible seating for students in the 3rd-grade level

  • Michelle Young (Highland Elementary) - Foldable, magnetic dry-erase boards to support phonemic reading instruction

bottom of page